address-book-black-and-white-document-205414.jpg

RSE Directory

If you are a research software engineer working at one of the N8 universities and would like to be added to this directory please fill in the form at: https://forms.gle/1ZWU6hicqUvrjoyo8

Lancaster University

Name

E-mail

Job title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Alison Hale

a.c.hale@lancaster.ac.uk

Research Fellow

R; MATLAB; JavaScript; Maple

 

 

 

 

 

Newcastle University

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Kate Court

kate.court@ncl.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Java, database management

 

 

 

 

Fiona Galston

fiona.galston@newcastle.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

JavaScript; Angular; Web; C#;

 

 

 

 

David Herbert

david.herbert2@newcastle.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Java, Geospatial Web, Python, PHP, Unix/Linux, GIS, C/C++

 

 

 

 

Mike Simpson

mike.simpson@ncl.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Python; Java; C++; Blender; Visualisation; Programming; Problem Solving; Debugging; Version Control; 3D Graphics;

 

 

 

 

Jannetta Steyn

jannetta.steyn@newcastle.ac.uk

 

Senior Research Associate

Java, Python, R, MatLab, Bash, HPC

 

 

 

 

Mark Turner

mark.turner@ncl.ac.uk

 

Head of Research Software Engineering

JavaScript, UI/UX, Web Technologies, Containers, Cloud, Java, Python

 

 

 

 

 

University of Leeds

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Oliver Clark

O.K.Clark@leeds.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Python; Perl; C/C++; SVN; Git; Postgres; MySQL

 

 

 

 

Alistair Curd

a.curd@leeds.ac.uk

Research Fellow

Python, R

 

 

 

 

John Hodrien

J.H.Hodrien@leeds.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Linux;HPC

 

 

 

 

Vladimir Kisil

kisilv@maths.leeds.ac.uk

Reader

C++, Python

 

 

 

 

Joanna Leng

j.leng@leeds.ac.uk

Senior RSE Fellow

Visualization, HPC, Image Analysis

 

 

 

 

 

University of Liverpool

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Cliff Addison

c.addison@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Manager, Advanced Research Computing

machine learning; research compute architecture design; parallel algorithm design

 

 

 

 

Cameron Hargreaves

C.J.Hargreaves@Liverpool.ac.uk

 

PhD Student

Python; HPC; C; Topological Data Analysis; Deep Learning; Machine Learning; Linear algebra; Unix systems; Data mining; Web technologies

 

 

 

 

Xiaowei Huang

Xiaowei.huang@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Lecturer / Assistant Professor

Python; Haskell; Tensorflow

 

 

 

 

Phillip Maffettone

phillip.maffettone@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Research associate

Python; FORTRAN; MATLAB

 

 

 

 

Ian Smith

i.c.smith@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Principal Analyst/Programmer

C/C++, FORTRAN, Python, Perl, (some) R, (some) Java, Powershell, PHP, UNIX shell

 

 

 

 

Bryan Williams

bryan@liverpool.ac.uk

 

PDRA

MATLAB; Python; C++; Java

 

 

 

 

Jonathan Willitts

jonathan.willitts@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Software Engineer

Python; Version Control; Git; SVN; HPC; Bash; Linux; Testing; Django; Vagrant; VBA; PyQt; QGIS; Platform LSF; EnginFrame; Java; Scripting; Databases; Software Development

 

 

 

 

 

University of Manchester

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Patricia Barnby

patricia.barnby@manchester.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Java; C#; Mobile

 

 

 

 

Ian Cottam

ian.cottam@manchester.ac.uk

 

Senior Research Software Engineer

 

 

 

 

 

Ian Hinder

ian.hinder@manchester.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Numerical methods; Partial differential equation; Automatic programming; Mathematical model; Parallel computing; HPC; C (programming language); C++; Wolfram Mathematica; Python; Bash (Unix shell); Linux; Mac OS; Git; Docker (software); Jenkins (software); libvirt; MPI; OpenMP; VisIt; Optimization; Version control; Reproducibility; Virtualization; Software testing; Correctness testing; Visualization; Middleware

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Andrew Jerrison

andrew.jerrison@manchester.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C#;Javascript;web;mobile app;databases

 

 

 

 

Douglas Lowe

douglas.lowe@manchester.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Fortran; Python; Shell Scripting; NCL; Version Control

 

 

 

 

Martin Turner

martin.turner@manchester.ac.uk

 

Business Relationship Manager for Research IT

 

 

 

 

 

 

University of Sheffield

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

Will Furnass

w.furnass@sheffield.ac.uk

 

Senior Research Software Engineer; acting group lead

Python, Java, bash, SQL, Ansible, Puppet, Docker, Vagrant, systems administration

 

 

 

 

Mozhgan Kabri Chimeh

m.kabiri-chimeh@sheffield.ac.uk

 

Research Associate/Research Software Engineer

 C/C++; Java; parallel programming languages (CUDA, OpenMP); Git; Bash

 

 

 

 

 

University of York

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Peter Byrne

peter.byrne@york.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Python; Fortran; Bash; Parallel; HPC

 

 

 

 

Peter Hill

peter.hill@york.ac.uk

Associate Research Software Engineer

C++; Fortran; Python; Testing; Version Control; Parallel; HPC

 

 

 

 

Killian Murphy

killian.murphy@york.ac.uk

 

Associate Research Software Engineer

Python; C; Embedded Systems; HPC; Linux; Electronic Engineering

 

 

 

 

 

Return to article index