address-book-black-and-white-document-205414.jpg

RSE Directory

A guide to the skills, knowledge and software expertise of the Research Software Engineers at each of the N8 Universities.

If you are a research software engineer working at one of the N8 universities and would like to be added to this directory please fill in the form at: https://forms.gle/1ZWU6hicqUvrjoyo8

We recognise that not everyone who is writing code has the job title of research software engineer, you don't have to be working as part of a central group to be an RSE either. The Software Sustainability Institute have a short guide to what constitutes an RSE: https://rse.ac.uk/what-is-an-rse/ if this is you, please add your name to this list.

This list is not exhaustive and is regularly updated.

Durham University

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Alison Clarke

alison.r.clarke@durham.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Python; Mobile development; Web development

 

 

 

 

Jonathan Frawley

jonathan.frawley@durham.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Python; Scala; C; Deep Learning; Web Development; Game Development; Linux; Parallel Programming;

 

 

 

 

Mark Turner

mark.turner@durham.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C++; Java; Python; ASP and logic-based learning applications; Natural Language Processing - particularly in clinical settings.

 

 

 

 

Christopher Wareing

christopher.wareing@durham.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C; FORTRAN; HPC; MPI; OpenMP; Parallel Programming; Debugging, Profiling and Optimising; Code porting; Matlab; Maple; IDL; Python; Intel MKL; FFTW; Visualisation; MPI-IO; SILO; VisIt

 

 

 

 

Dr. Marion Weinzierl

marion.weinzierl@durham.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C++; FORTRAN; Python; Matlab; Java; version control

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lancaster University

Name

E-mail

Job title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Alison Hale

a.c.hale@lancaster.ac.uk

Research Fellow

R; MATLAB; JavaScript; Maple

 

 

 

 

 

Newcastle University

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Kate Court

kate.court@ncl.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Java, database management

 

 

 

 

Fiona Galston

fiona.galston@newcastle.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

JavaScript; Angular; Web; C#;

 

 

 

 

David Herbert

david.herbert2@newcastle.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Java, Geospatial Web, Python, PHP, Unix/Linux, GIS, C/C++

 

 

 

 

Rebecca Osselton

rebecca.osselton@newcastle.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

PHP, Perl, JavaScript, Vue.js, Knockout.js, full stack web developement

 

 

 

 

Mike Simpson

mike.simpson@ncl.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Python; Java; C++; Blender; Visualisation; Programming; Problem Solving; Debugging; Version Control; 3D Graphics;

 

 

 

 

Jannetta Steyn

jannetta.steyn@newcastle.ac.uk

 

Senior Research Associate

Java, Python, R, MatLab, Bash, HPC

 

 

 

 

Mark Turner

mark.turner@ncl.ac.uk

 

Head of Research Software Engineering

JavaScript, UI/UX, Web Technologies, Containers, Cloud, Java, Python

 

 

 

 

 

University of Leeds

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Oliver Clark

O.K.Clark@leeds.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Python; Perl; C/C++; SVN; Git; Postgres; MySQL

 

 

 

 

Alistair Curd

a.curd@leeds.ac.uk

Research Fellow

Python, R

 

 

 

 

John Hodrien

J.H.Hodrien@leeds.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Linux;HPC

 

 

 

 

Vladimir Kisil

kisilv@maths.leeds.ac.uk

Reader

C++, Python

 

 

 

 

Joanna Leng

j.leng@leeds.ac.uk

Senior RSE Fellow

Visualization, HPC, Image Analysis

 

 

 

 

 

University of Liverpool

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Cliff Addison

caddison@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Manager, Advanced Research Computing

machine learning; research compute architecture design; parallel algorithm design

 

 

 

 

Max Birkett

m.birkett@liverpool.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C; C++; C#; Python; Java; Javascript; MATLAB; SQL; ASP.NET; ASP; CGI; IIS; ISAPI; HTML; CSS; DOM; AJAX; NUnit; Git; Mercurial; CVS; CCDC CSD Python API; MPI; Entity Framework; NHibernate

 

 

 

 

Cameron Hargreaves

C.J.Hargreaves@Liverpool.ac.uk

 

PhD Student

Python; HPC; C; Topological Data Analysis; Deep Learning; Machine Learning; Linear algebra; Unix systems; Data mining; Web technologies

 

 

 

 

Xiaowei Huang

Xiaowei.huang@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Lecturer / Assistant Professor

Python; Haskell; Tensorflow

 

 

 

 

Ian Smith

i.c.smith@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Principal Analyst/Programmer

C/C++, FORTRAN, Python, Perl, (some) R, (some) Java, Powershell, PHP, UNIX shell

 

 

 

 

Bryan Williams

bryan@liverpool.ac.uk

 

PDRA

MATLAB; Python; C++; Java

 

 

 

 

Jonathan Willitts

jonathan.willitts@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Software Engineer

Python; Version Control; Git; SVN; HPC; Bash; Linux; Testing; Django; Vagrant; VBA; PyQt; QGIS; Platform LSF; EnginFrame; Java; Scripting; Databases; Software Development

 

 

 

 

 

University of Manchester

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Patricia Barnby

patricia.barnby@manchester.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Java; C#; Mobile

 

 

 

 

Ian Hinder

ian.hinder@manchester.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Numerical methods; Partial differential equation; Automatic programming; Mathematical model; Parallel computing; HPC; C (programming language); C++; Wolfram Mathematica; Python; Bash (Unix shell); Linux; Mac OS; Git; Docker (software); Jenkins (software); libvirt; MPI; OpenMP; VisIt; Optimization; Version control; Reproducibility; Virtualization; Software testing; Correctness testing; Visualization; Middleware

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Andrew Jerrison

andrew.jerrison@manchester.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C#; Javascript; web; mobile app; databases

 

 

 

 

Douglas Lowe

douglas.lowe@manchester.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Fortran; Python; Shell Scripting; NCL; Version Control

 

 

 

 

Martin Turner

martin.turner@manchester.ac.uk

 

Business Relationship Manager for Research IT

 

 

 

 

 

 

University of Sheffield

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

Paul Richmond

p.richmond@sheffield.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer/RSE Fellow

C/C++, CUDA, OpenMP, Python, Git, FLAMEGPU, Embeded, Django

Will Furnass

w.furnass@sheffield.ac.uk

 

Senior Research Software Engineer

Python, HPC, bash, SQL, Ansible, Puppet, Docker, Vagrant, systems administration

John Charlton

 

j.a.charlton@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C/C++, CUDA, Python

 

 

 

 

Robert Chisholm

 

r.chisholm@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C/C++, CUDA, OpenMP, Java, Python, Git, FLAMEGPU

 

 

 

 

Peter Heywood

p.heywood@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C/C++, CUDA, OpenMP, Python, Git, FLAMEGPU

 

 

 

 

David Jones

david.r.jones@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

ython, Go, Lua, Programming Language Design and Implementation, git, C, /bin/awk, kerning

 

 

 

 

Twin Karmakharm

t.karmakharm@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C/C++, Python, HPC, Deep Learning, Singularity, Docker

 

 

 

 

Anna Krystalli

a.krystalli@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

R, Shiny, Data Management, Data Visualisation

 

 

 

 

David Wilby

d.wilby@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Python, Matlab, Git, HPC, bash, Docker, R, Arduino

 

 

 

 

Matt Leach

m.leach@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

C/C++, CUDA, Git, Physical Modelling, Computer Graphics

 

 

 

 

Daniele Tartarini

 

Research Software Engineer

C/C++, Python, MPI, Openmpi, GPU/CUDA, Django, Compuatational mechanics, Scientific workflows, Machine learning for bioinformatics, Medical Image registration, Multiscale modelling

 

 

 

 

Robert Turner

r.d.turner@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer

Python, Matlab, R, Ansible, VMs, Containers, CI, Testing, Code Review, Training, Image Analysis, Data Munging, Databases, Data Analysis, Project Management

 

 

 

 

Patricio F. Ortiz

p.ortiz@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer at ACSE

C/C++, Python, Fortran, Perl, HPC, automated data acquisition pipelines, Git, JavaScript, Java, HTML5, CSS, Plotly/dash, data-QC, Databases, Visualisation. Author of "First Steps in Scientific Programming"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

University of Sheffield - Digital Humanities Institute



Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

Matthew Groves

m.i.groves@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer (Digital Humanities Institute)

React; JS; Docker; Python; PHP; Symfony; Java; SQL; GIS; Elasticsearch; Hadoop; Text analysis

 

 

 

 

Michael Pidd

m.pidd@sheffield.ac.uk

Director (Digital Humanities Institute)

XML; digitisation; web ontologies; systems design; project management; data management.

 

 

 

 

Jamie McLaughlin

j.mclaughlin@sheffield.ac.uk

Research Software Engineer (Digital Humanities Institute)

React; WebGL; JS; Docker; Python; PHP; Java; SQL; C/C++; NLP; User Experience Design (UX); Long-term software sustainability.

 

University of York

Name

E-mail

Job Title

Skills

 

 

 

 

Peter Byrne

peter.byrne@york.ac.uk

 

Research Software Engineer

Python; Fortran; Bash; Parallel; HPC

 

 

 

 

Peter Hill

peter.hill@york.ac.uk

Associate Research Software Engineer

C++; Fortran; Python; Testing; Version Control; Parallel; HPC

 

 

 

 

Killian Murphy

killian.murphy@york.ac.uk

 

Associate Research Software Engineer

Python; C; Embedded Systems; HPC; Linux; Electronic Engineering

 

 

 

 

 

Return to article index